Daily Conversion

   What does it mean to convert? To (a)transform, to (b)change, to (c)chose something else, to (d)adapt to a new or different purpose… All acceptable answers. And since my blog proposes that I care about this word, which I do, let’s talk about it. Why did I chose this title? Well, I wanted to pick something catchy and different, something faith based, and something… challenging. Indeed it is. Of course, I’m speaking in religious terms, but the phrase could equally relate to general every day life. Every morning we wake up, we make a million choices, and even the simplest of them relate to the word conversion. For example, you had a bad day yesterday. You got up late and you were behind all day. Today, you chose to transform how yesterday went, by changing what you did and adapt to a new, better plan. (See what I did there? ;-)) It’s a mini life conversion. We feel better when we make these positive conversions, yes? 

   Of course, my blog title isn’t really referring to the above mentioned type of conversion. Those are good, yes, and they should be celebrated, but my blog is referring to spiritual conversion. I have to make a choice every day before I get out of bed, how I am going to live my life… THAT day. I’m lucky if I get up once a week and think about it, honestly. If I truly thought about converting each day, I wonder how different my life would be. I’m not talking about the overarching “conversion to Christianity,” but a daily conversion to live my life how Christ would. I don’t know about you, but when I wake up in the morning, my mind is going crazy thinking about everything but converting my spiritual life.

   Today, I thought about the correlation with the word conversion when it’s used in sports. So much excitement surrounds a player when he converts 2 points and wins the football game in the last second, or a team when free throw conversion was the difference in their winning the basketball game. These conversions are exciting. It’s celebrated. It’s a necessity to win.

   I want to win my daily battles. I want to be more like Christ. I want to show compassion and love to the world. In order to do this, I need to ask God, every day, to transform me and use me. This is where it needs to start- with myself.


 

Open my eyes, Lord, to see my true thoughts and motivations. I don’t want to hold on to the self-righteous things I consider worthy but which you have called filthy rags. I want to be emptied of any condemning attitudes toward others, for condemnation only brings bondage to both of us. Release me, Father, from the grip of negative thoughts and critical attitudes. Let your cleansing blood wash over me now. You can remove the selfish motivations deep within me for you know every corner of my heart. Bring into the light my “logs” of self-righteousness and pride. I don’t want them anymore! I ask for your forgiveness. I want room for your presence and your life. I ask you to transform me into your image and likeness.

 

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou amongst women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, mother of God, pray for us sinners now, and at the hour of our death. Amen.

 

St. Catherine of Siena, pray for us. 

St. Anthony, pray for us.

St. Therese of Lisieux, pray for us. 

St. Julian, pray for us. 

St. Gregory, pray for us. 

 


 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Conversion

  1. You remembered all our patrons! I love this, and you.
    I would add…
    St. Joseph, most-chaste spouse of Mary, teach us true love, without regard to self-satisfaction, pray that we would learn to give ourselves as Jesus did, as Mary did, as you did.

Leave a comment